“Sound of Digital Fermentation” reimagines an orchestra through technology

WOW magazine 186 - Jul. 28th, 2021

“Yoichi Ochiai x Japan Philharmonic Orchestra Project,” which started in 2018 with the theme of “reimagining orchestra through technology,” is celebrating its fifth performance this year. This year’s concept is “open your senses.” Under the title of “Sound of Digital Fermentation,” the aim is to present a concert that will reclaim music and physicality by awakening ​the five senses, including the sense of smell and taste, through a live orchestra.

As a “Video Performer,” WOW expands the orchestra from a visual standpoint according to the theme at the time. For this year’s performance, a large-scale video system will be divided into strips and installed on and above the stage. When each piece becomes overlapped to create a single scene in the brain, what kind of image will be depicted? This new orchestra experience seeks to incorporate the senses that are cultivated from the indigenous nature of each individual.
Through this performance, we hope that you can experience the new scenery of this era and the “restoration of physicality.”

▶Click here for videos of past performances : Vol.1 Vol.2 Vol.3 Vol.4

Director/Producer: Yoichi Ochiai
Conductor: Hikaru Ebihara
Video Performer: WOW

■Performance Details
Date: August 11, 2021 (Wed)
Time: Performance at 19:00 (Doors open 18:20)
Venue: Suntory Hall
Address: 1-13-1 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo
Japan Philharmonic Orchestra Official Website
*Concurrently held with Yoichi Ochiai's Photo Exhibition “Orchestra and Mass”

■Ticket Price
Venue Ticket
S seat: ¥8,000, A seat: ¥6,500, YS seat (25 years old or younger)/Diversity seat (disability certificate holders) ¥1,500
Purchase Tickets

Online Streaming Ticket (Live stream only, domestic)
¥5,000 per day
Live Stream: 8/11 (Wed) at 19:00 (Ticket sales period: 6/11 at 10:00 to 8/5 at 18:00)
Rebroadcast 1: 8/21 (Sat) at 19:00 (Ticket sales period: 6/11 at 10:00 to 8/17 at 18:00)
Rebroadcast 2: 8/22 (Sun) at 9:00 (Ticket sales period: 6/11 at 10:00 to 8/17 at 18:00)
Purchase Tickets

Japan Philharmonic Orchestra

Reiwa 3rd year “Japan Expo” Innovation Project
Agency for Cultural Affairs/Japan Arts Council
Tokyo Metropolitan Foundation for History and Culture
Arts Council Tokyo

Emohouse, WOW, TBWA\HAKUHODO, Prism Co.

Asahi Shuzo Co., Seibido Co., others

WOW magazine